Some people say that the main environmental problem of our time is the loss of particular species of plants and animals. Others say that there are more important environmental problems. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

The main problematic factor nowadays, is assumed to be the loss of certain plant and animal diversities by some, while others believe there are many more significant issues to be concerned about. The following essay will be discussing both views. On one hand, currently due to selfish and careless behaviour of humans, a large number of wildlife and plants are nearing extinction. For example, in South Africa, lions and many other animals are bred in farms for the sake of trophy hunting or in other words, to be killed for entertainment and thus there is a high risk of these species being extinct in the near future. Another reason is the negligence of people camping in the woods since they rarely put out campfires properly, which is often the main reason for forest fires and the destruction of most wildlife habitats. However, on the other hand, compared to the loss of wildlife and plant species, there are much more concerning issues such as pollution and the depletion of the Ozone layer. Sources of pollution are many, with industries and factories established by man being the main factor. These industries often dispose their wastes into the seas or oceans for convenience, which creates a threat to sea creatures and their habitats. For instance, a whale being washed ashore, that had died due to suffocation by a large plastic ring around its neck. Furthermore, these factories produce poisonous emissions while manufacturing products and moreover contributes to the reduction of the Ozone layer. Ozone deficiency increases the amount of UV radiation reaching the Earth’s surface and causes global warming and health problems such as skin and eye irritation. In conclusion, although the extinction of animal and plant species is a conundrum, but in my opinion, I believe that there are much more contrasting issues to worry about like the loss of the Ozone layer protecting the Earth from dangerous UV radiation and pollution which could pose a larger threat in the future.