Many museums charge for admission while others are free. Do you think the advantages of charging people for admission to museums outweighs the disadvantages.

Some museums charge for entrance fee while some do not. In my opinion, I think the merit of charging an entrance fee, which is creation of income for smooth operation overshadows the drawback which is the incidence of low turnout. Admittedly, a major disadvantage of this fee is the low turnout of visitors to the museum. Museums house antiques and artefacts for both educational purposes and also to enlighten the members of the public about their historical cultures. If a fee is attached to such places, people might be discouraged because on a regular basis a museum is not a place people love to go for leisure. Take for instance, when the national museum in Japan opened and attached an entrance fee, there was a very low turnout and the managers had to go back to the drawing board to review their terms. Despite the fact that attaching a fee might reduce attendance rate of visitors, an income is favourable for the museum as this will be used to run the operations and also manage the museum. Lots of funds go into running a museum before it can be done effectively. The Hongkong museum, for instance, hosts monthly conferences and educational shows and In order to ensure that these shows go well, experienced teachers and lecturers are hired as tour guides and they have to be paid, hence, the need for income cannot be over-emphasized. To conclude, while weighing the merits and drawbacks of entrance fee, the advantages still overshadow the disadvantages, as income is very much necessary to run a museum and to enable smooth operation.