Some people believe that reading stories from a book is better than watching TV or playing computer games for children. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Many people believe that reading books is more beneficial for children compared to watching TV or playing computer games. I strongly agree with this opinion and this essay will give further explanations. On the one hand, cultivating a reading habit could benefit children with their early development and life-long learning that is unachievable with digital media. Firstly, reading boosts imagination and improves information retention among children. It is evident that readers need to use their minds to visualize a subject from text descriptions and this also helps create a longer memorization of the content, in comparison to a video or a movie. Secondly, reading enhances the critical thinking of children and provides necessary resources for writing skills in their future education and work. A recent study has proved that the dependency of pupils on technological devices causes several troubles in their studies because they lack reading and information-analysis skills, as well as the tremendous vocabulary provided by written books. On the other hand, reading stories in books is less harmful to children ’s health compared to looking at screens. First of all, TVs or computers release blue light, which is the main cause of myopia and other eye disorders. In addition, the overuse of display devices is also the primary reason for Tourette syndrome, commonly known as Tics, which is characterised by repeated twitches and movements. In fact, there is an increasing number of children suffering from this syndrome, and its pathology is because long-term exposure to screens affects the peripheral neuron system of a child. Finally, it has been proven that addiction to technological devices at early ages contributes to autism among some toddlers and young children. If a child chooses reading rather than relying on digital devices in their spare time, they can, without doubt, avoid these above significant drawbacks. In conclusion, it is evident that children can reap the benefits from reading books in both short-term and long-term so it should be prioritized among them, instead of watching TV or playing computer games which comes along with numerous health problems.