Are Computers an essential feature of modern education? Which subjects can be better taught using computers? Are there aspects of a good education that cannot be covered using computers?

If there is one thing over the past twenty years that has taken the world by storm, it is the revolution of computers. Today we have seen a rapid growth in the use of computers in our day to day life. But one question still remains. How have computers impacted education and learning. The biggest change we have seen is in the classroom itself. All teachers have to do today is make a simple PowerPoint presentation detailing the main points in the lesson. Subjects like science are made easy with simple animations to show the internal workings of devices. Showing Videos or documentaries related to History or Geography piques the interest of the student. Learning Computer programming is especially simple with a computer as it is the very purpose a computer is used for. With the birth of the internet, assignments are shared online making it easy for students to download it to their systems to solve them. Another medium which has shown promise in sharing knowledge via computers has boomed is through Massive open online courses. Major universities and Individuals skilled in certain topics have platforms on the internet to share their knowledge by making courses tailored to specific topics related to a particular skill. Learning software development is very popular using the platform, where students are taught how to make a computer do trivial or complicated tasks. Some universities even offer course certificates for a fee on completion of the courses which can boost the career of individuals participating in them. Despite the merits of using systems as a medium, there are still certain areas about it can be overbearing. Students have to be taught to operate them before using it. Mathematical calculations are simplified by the use of calculators. Students will find it difficult to cope with the basics of calculations by hand, such as multiplications and additions. Complicated symbols used for terms in Science and Mathematics are much easier to write than type. A good education is not only depicted by the technology used, but also by the teacher responsible for teaching the subject. A lot of investment should go into digitizing education, and not everyone would have the luxury to buy computers as they can tend to be expensive. To conclude, Computers definitely have had their impact on the way education is visualized today. From books to Powerpoints, From diagrams to Animations, from classrooms to the internet, it is a drastic change and a giant leap. However, some aspects of education will and always should stay at its roots. Having the knowledge of how it was done before computers were a thing paves way to deal with situations when computers are out of reach or un-available.