It is becoming increasingly popular for people to travel to tourist destinations during public holidays. What problems does this cause? What solutions are there to these problems?

More and more of us go to tourist hot spots when there is a national holiday. This essay will suggest that the biggest problem this causes is litter and submit providing extra bins as the best solution, followed by a reasoned conclusion. The primary drawback of so many people visiting the same place at the same time is the dropping of packaging, plastic bags, bottles and even human waste in public areas. There are simply not enough places to dispose of rubbish properly and this often leads to people dumping it wherever they like. This results in public places becoming unsightly, unhygienic, and smelly and even results in the destruction of public property. For example, Thanh Nien News in Vietnam recently reported that during the weeklong holiday in May 2015, the beach resort of Vung Tau was swamped with more tourists than it could cope with and this resulted in the parks and beaches quickly becoming covered in filth. A viable solution to this issue could be the use of more waste disposal facilities during peak periods. Extra places to dispose of waste could be deployed so that there are always options for people who need them and it could also be made clear where waste should be brought. For instance, at large events such as Glastonbury Festival in the UK, thousands of extra bins are installed in the adjacent town to cope with the extra refuse. To conclude, the major issue with too many holidaymakers is people leaving waste behind and a possible way to solve this is to deploy extra receptacles.