Some people think it is better to have a friend who always have the same opinions as them. Other people believe it is good to have a friend who always disagree with them. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It is believed by some that having friends who share the same thought as you is more important than a friend who has a differing opinion. In my opinion, I believe that having companions with an opposing view is better. On the one hand, some people believe that friendship with individuals that share same common view is better because there will be no room for commotion or conflict between the two parties. In other words, these two sets of people will be able to agree on ideas easily, without ending at loggerheads. What's more, theses sets of friends will make problem solving less difficult as they would be able to arrive at a common conclusion. For example, five groups of friends were interviewed by the psychology department of the University of California, they were asked the secret of the harmony amongst them despite being from different tribes, they all commented that it was easier because they all shared common view. This emphasizes the importance of sharing similar opinions. On the other hand, others think that having friends who disagree with one's view is better and I agree, because this allows one the opportunity to make a more concrete decision. To put in another way, when an individual has companions that do not agree with his judgement, it gives the friend wider options to choose from, consequently, resulting in more solid conclusions being made on various matters. Furthermore, this person can rely on his friends with different opinions because even if his own decision is not right, his friends can bring more solid views to the table that would in the end solve the problems. A good example of this was when a popular actor Adam Sadler gave a congratulatory speech after winning the award of the best actor in the world. He attributed his success to his friends who kept pushing him to the peak, despite having failed to perform excellently in the last movie he released. If Mr Sadler did not have friends with different views about his performance than what he felt about himself, he would have ended up a failure. In conclusion, although people's viewpoints may vary, I believe that having friends with different ideas will yield a better result than friends with the same ideas.