In a number of countries, some people think it is necessary to spend large sums of money on constructing new railyway lines for very fast trains between cities. Others believ ethe money should be spent on improving existing public transport. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion

Some say that funds should be spent on constructing new railways and fast trains between different regions, while others would argue that funds should be used for existing public transport. This essay will argue that although improving existing public transport can connect different parts of a city, people can get to other places quicker with fast trains and railways. On the one hand, improving public transport allows people to get to more places. This is because there are individuals who do not have a driving license, so the only option they have is to use public transport. In some nations, it is difficult to get to the countryside by public transport or using Uber and Cabify, so with better public transport, people will be able to move easily inside the city. For example, in many countries, there is no public transport or only a few of them every day, this makes it difficult for people to get to other places. However, I believe constructing new railways can also solve this problem. On the other hand, constructing new railways and fast trains between cities, allow people to get to their destination quicker. So the time that people spend travelling will reduce and efficiency will increase. This will lead to economic benefits as businesses will have greater access to markets. Also, nowadays many people are working in places far away from their families, and the construction of fast trains allows these people to be with their families. For instance, there are many fast trains between Chinese cities, in normal public transport, it takes around 4 hours to travel from Shenzhen to Hong Kong, but with fast trains, it only takes approximately 30 minutes. In my opinion, this point of view is preferable because people do not need to waste long journeys travelling. In conclusion, although public transport can connect places around cities, new railway lines and fast trains reduce the time spent travelling, and this is why, is better to construct new railway lines and fast trains.