THE WORLD TODAY IS A SAFER PLACE THAN IT WAS A HUNDRED YEARS AGO, AND GOVERNMENT SHOULD STOP SPENDING LARGE AMOUNTS OF MONEY ON THEIR ARMED FORCES. To what extent do you agree.

It is often believed that the government should reduce investment in armed forces due to the improvement of safety in modern life from a hundred years ago. I partially agree with this, for the general promotion of peace around the world regardless of some deadly conflicts that still take place, making it important for the authorities to spend money on armies for protection. On the one hand, the larger amount of money spent by the government is no longer necessary with the increasing awareness toward peace in current societies. In other words, there are a number of acts to promote harmony and cooperation as people come to accept their differences to respect each other. For instance, an international festival called "nagomu" has been held in Kanagawa in Japan since 1998 to encourage people to participate in traditional events where they can learn unique fashions as well as cuisines of diverse cultures. Therefore, the fact that many people tend to regard national differences as something positive and stimulating through such opportunities will reduce the role of militaries in the future. On the other hand, the government is still expected to spend a large amount of money to conquer the growing tensions between different nations. Indeed, there is a rising sense of insecurity as people face numerous global issues which include the accelerating depletion of natural fuels and food resources as well as the rising global temperatures and expansion of deserts. Furthermore, these problems lead to the poverty of many people and frequent international conflicts, causing more deaths and injuries. Thus, the government's ability to battle against other countries to protect safety and peace of the citizens should be well maintained, making the investment significant. In conclusion, I somewhat agree that the incredible amount of money for armies is not necessary as more people have a shared view of peace and cooperation. However, the greater possibilities for war in the severe situations on Earth make the investment important.