in many countries people are moving away from rural areas and towards urban areas. why do you think that is? what problems can this cause?

Nowadays, many rural areas around the world are being left empty, since an ever-growing number of people are choosing to move towards urban areas. The depopulation that affects the provinces and its consequences are a common topic. What are the top reasons which lead masses to leave the countryside? I think that, mainly, people are seeking for better living conditions. If there would not be concrete benefits, one would not easily change the place of living. Though rural areas can offer clean air and lots of natural space, the abundance of services and infrastructures which is typical for big cities is more important to most people. For instance, access to higher education, efficient transport and healthcare system are tangible benefits of living in an urban area. Furthermore, urban areas, especially if the size of metropolises and capitals, attract market-leading businesses. Big corporations often choose them as the base for their headquarters, because they are a strategic and convenient location. For example, this creates hundreds of employment possibilities which could be only dreamed of in the country, where the economy is mostly run by family businesses or local enterprises. While its root causes are clearly understandable, this migration process has less obvious consequences. The principal problem is overpopulation. When the immigration flow takes place in a short time, cities may not be ready to receive the new inhabitants without lowering the quality of life. Since cities hadn’t had the time to expand properly, newcomers are often forced to live in degraded neighbourhoods. This ultimately leads to social discrepancies and raise criminality. In conclusion, the social phenomenon of people leaving the rural areas is a major issue for the modern society. On one hand, civilians aim to improve their conditions by moving to the cities, but on the other hand, they risk facing the consequences of overpopulation.