Some Companies have uniforms for their staff which must be worn all the time. What are the advantages for a company of having a uniform? Are there any benefits or drawbacks of having a uniform for the staff?

Uniform is a symbol of professionalism. There are few companies who believe that their employees must wear uniforms while they are on duty. Wearing uniforms has benefits as well are drawbacks. This essay will cover the pros and cons of wearing uniforms for employees at work place. Firstly, employees wearing uniform know what they wear while working. For example, for Civil service officers such as Navy, Army and Police it is mandatory to wear their official dress code while they are at work. Secondly, it saves a copious amount of time in deciding what to wear to work. Thirdly, uniforms, carry a brand value of the individual representing the Company. For example, when we see a police force officer, we know the duties of the police officers and it creates a positive impact since they are the protectors of the citizens. On the other hand, there are drawbacks to wearing uniforms as well. Firstly, uniform, although it creates a positive image of the individual, but that necessarily does not change the person’s personality. For example, if a person is a con artist, he can dress like an army or police officer and still carry on with the robbery which he is capable of. Secondly, uniform is expensive since there is a requisite to stitch and print the company details on it. But if there is no uniform, then the cost of clothing is borne by the employee. Employees prefer not to wear uniform, but formal wear is accepted since they still have a choice to a certain extent. In conclusion, Uniform does not have any benefit for the employee as the level of work to be performed is the same. If employees wear uniform, they also carry the image of the company. With one negative act, the whole image of the company is at stake. Therefore, uniform can increase responsibility and employees will always be reluctant in wearing one.