Some governments say how many children a family can have in their country should be strictly controlled. They may control the number of children someone has through taxes. It is sometimes necessary and right for a government to control the population in this way. Do you agree or disagree?

The population of a country has an immense impact on the overall progress of a nation, and that is why many countries adopt strict birth control measures. I disagree with the suggestion that a government should be allowed to control the number of children through taxes. Extreme birth control measures can hardly bring any positive outcomes. This can be exemplified with China as they introduced the policy of “one family, one child,” in an attempt to curb the overpopulation issue and thus would aid in the preservation of natural resources. Surprisingly, this policy destroyed the balance between males and female population ratio. Today, China has 30 million more men than women, which could only mean that some will never have the chance to marry, and thanks to the one-child policy. However, people of authority should outline current policies and enact laws without depriving the citizens of their rights of understanding the nature of the problem. The best course of action would be putting forward national awareness campaigns to elucidate the importance of this pressing issue and educate them. Moreover, a media initiative featuring celebrities would yield the desired outcomes with the public. For example, recent addiction campaigns include famous football players, namely, Mo Salah had caused a decrease in the numbers of addicts. Finally, imposing taxes over the number of children would only impoverish citizens more, while giving the wealthy absolute freedom. Thus, it would go against the egalitarian rights of society. In conclusion, I second the opinion that is encouraging birth control policy of a country among ordinary citizens should be via education because motivated individuals with the right approach via awareness campaigns would perceive better results than considering taxes.