In some countries, secondary school aims to provide a general education with a range of subjects. In other words, it has a narrow range of specific subjects so students can focus on their future career. what system is more appropraite in today's world.

Post-metric education institutions in a part of the world focus on casual subjects, while in some countries the scope of secondary education is limited to enable the pupils think about their future career. However, both the approaches have their own benefits and drawbacks. I believe that the second approach is the best in the modern competitive world. To begin with, one of the advantages of teaching all the subjects at secondary level, is the development of a vast knowledge base. For example, the students learn all the general subjects like mathematics, economics, history, English and geography. Therefore, after completing their post-matriculation, they can enhance their knowledge on any subject, and can pursue it as a basis for their future employment. However, such a system proves fruitless for those who want to get an instant employment after completing their studies. In contrast, focussing on a particular or a few subjects at secondary level has its own benefits. Firstly, the students has to spare less time for the education, as the number of disciplines to study are lesser. As a result of this, they are left with more time to ponder about their career. Secondly, learning a few subjects makes pupils more specialised in those areas. This specialization prepares them to be facing a cutthroat competition of the present world. It has been proved in a research by “The Times” that the students, with a limited number of subjects at secondary level, are 72% more successful in getting jobs after completing their secondary education than those with many general subjects. To conclude, while learning many common subjects at secondary level, is advantageous in gaining an overall knowledge, an approach of teaching, with a few specialised subjects, is more suitable in these days, by the way of making the students more specialised.