2- Plastic shopping bags contribute to the pollution of land and sea, some think they should be banned. Do you agree or disagree?

Despite the convenience of plastic bags for shopping, they are deemed to be major pollutants to the fauna of land and sea. Thus, some activists are calling for prohibiting them. I agree with their opinion, but I believe to consider other steps prior to banning them entirely. Perhaps the main reason for this problem that plastic bags are not environmentally friendly. When landfills are filled with plastic litter, they either send them for recycling plants or dispose them into the ocean. As a consequence, if animals or birds forage for plastics by mistake, they would be able to digest them, and shards of plastics would fester and cause death. For example, the World Health Organization (WHO) has reported whales and turtles as well as some sea birds are facing extinction due to death related to feasting on plastic flotsam. Therefore, if governments do not take dangerous actions, humanity would encounter the same fate inevitably. To tackle this issue properly, authorities should shoulder the onus with citizens by informing them and spurring to find solutions. Firstly, changing the public’s mindset and behaviour is pivotal through mainstream media. British Broadcasting Corporation (BBC) started an initiative to curb the usage of plastics and to teach the public about the repercussions of wastage for wildlife. Secondly, providing alternative and offering incentive. Store, for instance, is offering bio-degradable disposable bags, reusable totes, and cashback for those who are not getting disposable plastic carriers. As a result, if all community members collaborate together, I think we could impede the swift deterioration of habitats and in turn wildlife. In conclusion, I would reiterate my view that plastic bags pose a threat to the existence of animals. However, I believe awareness campaigns and offering other options should be done prior to ceasing the circulation of plastic bags.