Some people think that children should be taught to be competitive in school. Others, however, say that cooperation and team working skills are more important. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

All round learning is becoming increasingly popular in many schools in the world. It is argued by some people that learning institutions should teach student competition, while others believe that cooperation and group work is essential. In my opinion, I agree with the statement that competitiveness ought to be learnt in educational centres, because this will ensure that they strive for the best as well as being able to meet up with future societal pressures. On the one hand, some individuals believe that competition should be studied in institutions of learning and I agree because this will prepare tutee impart skills or knowledge to taught duty tasty to always want to be the best amongst their peers. In other words, teaching this aids their abilities to pursue excellence, because this skill helps to build their mind towards having healthy relationships. For instance, private primary schools in Lagos in 2018 organized inter school debates and quiz competition, which motivated the students to go extra length to study in a bid to win the grand prize. Overall, competing ensures that learners develop a positive attitude towards winning. On the other hand, some others view that having abilities in co-operative and teamwork is paramount because this will help them learn how to develop cordial relationships among people. This is because at every phase of their lives they would come in contact with people that they would relate and associate with, so it is important that this skill is incorporated when they are in school. For example, many companies and businesses in Nigeria recently stated that teamwork is vital for promotions. Therefore, it is necessary that cooperation and being able to perform within groups is taught in schools in order to be able to cope outside the academic environment. In conclusion, although people may vary in their opinion, I believe that being competitive aids conscious effort to be great and prepares them for the future.