Some people believe that violence on television and in computer games has a damaging effect on the society. Others deny that these factors have any significant influence on people's behaviour. What is your opinion?

The ongoing debate regarding the impact of violence in TV shows and video games on individuals has been debated for years. While some say the exposure to such content encourages violent tendencies and contributes to aggressive behaviour in real life, others argue that it is a matter to individual interpretation. I believe there are a few drawbacks which will be discussed in this essay. First of all, there is a confirmed correlation between exposure to brutality in TV and computer games, especially among young people and children. The research suggests that sometimes such content blurs lines between fantasy and reality and as a result, there are well-known cases of mass shootings in schools and public places done by people with an unstable mental health. Therefore, brutal content is highly likely to impact empathy towards others in a negative way. Individuals might become less sensitive to the results of their own actions, which normalises violence. Secondly, aggressiveness online potentially increases such emotions as fear and anxiety. For example, people become more stressed and the possibility of taking it out on others goes up. As a result, this prevents from fostering a peaceful society and I believe this is a problem that needs to be addressed. To conclude even though there is an opinion that broadcasted aggressiveness might be a release for naturally violent individuals, I believe the drawbacks outweigh the benefits. Therefore I support the idea of responsible consumption and limited hours when people are exposed to such content. Additionally, it is crucial to acknowledge the effects are complex and violence on TV is just one of many factors.