Teenagers should not be allowed to use mobile phones at school. To what extent do you agree?

In the last decade, cellular phone usage has increased manifolds. This trend has particularly affected our younger generation. Using these devices, particularly in the context of schools, if often argued about. Some advocate banning the use of mobile devices in schools; others disagrees. In my opinion, school going teens should not be permitted to use these gadgets while attending school. I believe, that permitting use of cellular devices results in loss of concentration among students. In other words, these gadgets distracts students from attentively listening to lectures being delivered by their teachers. Consequently, they not only miss important academic content, but also fail to take part in class discussions and activities. My daughter's school and many other renowned schools in Pakistan, have realized the negative implication of this trend, and impose strong fines to discourage this practise. Besides loss of interest in academic activities, limited extra curricular activities among school going teenagers is yet another growing concern that stems from the use of mobile phones. I hold the opinion that they spend their entire leisure time using mobiles. Clearly, this mobile addiction deprives them from participating in sports or arts related events. This dispels the idea of allowing students to use mobiles. To conclude, supervised use of mobiles at home may have certain benefits. However, I am confident that the use of cellular phones in schools does not let a child fully experience the school environment by negatively affecting both his studies and extra curricular capabilities.