Some young people are leaving countryside to live in cities and towns, leaving only old people in countryside? What are the problems of this issue? What can be done to solve this problem?

In the last few decades, there has been a frequent migration of youth from the countryside to cities and towns, leaving behind their elderly in their hometown. Though, the transition of these people leads to their self-growth, there are some repercussions associated with this transition. In my essay, I will highlight a few drawbacks associated with this issue and also, provide some solutions to overcome them. Nowadays, it is commonly seen that the young people from rural areas relocate to developed cities, either for higher education or to earn a living, leaving behind their older counterparts. Ultimately, as they get accustomed to the modern lifestyles of cities, they rarely get enough time to look after the overall growth and development of these underdeveloped areas. As a result, these places remain backward economically and suffer from poor infrastructure. For example, it was reported in “The Times Of India” that there is approximately 20 to 30% influx of young people in cities every year, which has resulted in poor health and educational conditions in the countryside. If this trend continues for few more generations, then there would be a time when condition of these areas would deteriorate, and illiteracy and epidemics would flourish. Although, these problems hamper the overall growth of the villages, it can be controlled by certain Government policies. To illustrate, the government should incorporate rules, according to which, every individual should contribute a portion of their income for the overall upliftment of their home-village. Also, visiting their domicile, after a certain period of time should be made mandatory. If these rules are strictly followed, the suburbs will get sufficient funds for their development and due to the timely visits, the youth will remain emotionally attached to them. In conclusion, the movement of young people from villages to cities, leaving behind the old people, results in underdevelopment of these places. But, it can be overcome by stringent government policies, making it compulsory for the youth to visit the countryside and by contributing a portion of their pay for their growth.