Some people think history has nothing or little to tell us, but others think that studying the past history can help us better understand the present. Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

A group of individuals present the view that studying the past is not useful enough, whereas others believe everyone worldwide should take full advantage of studying the past history. I strongly agree with the latter opinion. On the one hand, some people justifiably argue that through history lessons, people of all ages can gain valuable life lessons that will strengthen their sense of identity. In other words, from a cultural viewpoint, historical research can provide insight into a better understanding of a society. In other words, learning about historical events can shape our values and beliefs. For example, we can study the past of a developed country and figure out how it has developed and we should follow the example of them. On the other hand, another group of people claim that the past is gone and can not be changed, so there is no point in dwelling on it. They insist that focusing on historical events can distract us from addressing current issues and challenges. However, I do not find this argument convincing as this knowledge can inform our decision-making processes and help us avoid repeating past errors. For instance, a nation that has been attacked in the past and damaged improves its defence structures and is less likely to be damaged again. To conclude, in my view, studying history is essential for gaining a comprehensive understanding of the world around us. historical research can provide insight into a better understanding of a society. moreover, this knowledge can inform our decision-making processes and help us avoid repeating past errors.