Some universities now offer their courses on the Internet so that people can study online. Is this a positive or negative development?

Remote learning has become increasingly prevalent owing to the advancement in technology. While some render this as extortionate feature of education, it is, in general, more beneficial compared to the traditional pedagogical methods due to its availability, accessibility and affordability. First and foremost, virtual universities are ubiquitous these days and easily grant admissions to students worldwide. In other words, the admission criteria devised by such institutes is achievable which entices many students, particularly from underprivileged nations, to seek enrollments in these institutes. For instance, neither do several online universities assess candidates nor do they require fulfilment of extra-curricular activities, which subsequently makes admission relatively easier compared to other colleges. Thus, virtual institutes offer tremendous virtues to students who, pertaining to any reason, cannot attend on-campus classes. Furthermore, online institutions are cost-effective as well; this element encourages more candidates to apply for these courses. To elaborate on this, since numerous candidates join these universities, not only do candidates are advantaged by their charges, but also a huge revenue is generated which covers the college expenditure. For example, when people join universities, even the minimum fee figures generate revenue markedly. This is essential for universities because they are not subsidised by governments very often, which makes them dependent on the public population. Hence, not only do students enjoy the virtues of universities ' cost-effectiveness, but they also enhance the popularity prospects of universities. In conclusion, although there are a few drawbacks to e-learning, there are substantial positive outcomes of such educational institutes in terms of cost and access. In order to overcome the pitfalls, virtual universities can incorporate one or two days of traditional learning into students ' schedules, which would allow students to interact with their peers and teachers.