Some people think news has no connection to people’s lives. So then it is a waste of time to read the newspaper and watch television news programs. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is believed that news is detached from the ordinary citizen’s lives and therefore, to watch or to read the news is an unjudicious use of time. While I acknowledge the validity of the disconnection of news coverage from daily lives, I would argue that people would still tune into content despite knowing their irrelevance. Proponents of such an idea claim that news is sensational by nature, which provides no real value aside from being shocking. This is true in the modern context since audiences, with a limited attention span, crave for immediate yet short forms of entertainment. Consequently, news agencies have become expert curators and designers of news, aiming to evoke the most basic emotions: fear, anger, and jealousy. Examples of this abound on the Internet, such as the intensive coverage of a corpse-dismemberment case recently, attracting widespread attention. In reality, any helpful tips regarding how to survive against a murderer would not be prioritized by news organizations because knowledge is boring and tedious. However, it is my belief that informing people about the futility of consuming news would not dissuade them from doing so due to the addictive nature entrenched deep within. Analogous to drugs, fast foods and other products, the news is socially engineered to satisfy the auditory and sensory experience of consumers. People use it as a way to temporarily distract themselves from the stressful reality and in other words, a form of escapism. Hence, to convince citizens not to watch or read the news might be ineffectual because addicted people consider it an inseparable part of their lives. Waste of time, as the idea suggests, is completely dependent on each person’s view and thus, should not be judged.