Many people believe that social networking sites (such as Facebook) have had a huge negative impact on both individuals and society.To what extent do you agree?

There is no doubt that social networking sites have a huge impact on society. Despite having brought global communities together, I agree that they have created many differences within the community itself. Social media sites, for example, Facebook, have opened new doors of communication for the individuals. These sites have brought people from different countries together, whereas, before the development of technology and social networking sites, people rarely had a chance to meet or communicate with anyone outside of their immediate circle or community. In addition, Facebook groups, for instance, offer a chance to meet and participate in discussions with other people who share common interests bringing them closer. However, on the other hand, networking sites have had a negative impact on the societies and local communities by encouraging passive modes of communication. Instead of meeting a person or taking part in local community events, people tend to be interested in different networking platforms. Consequently, the people within the community are no longer forming close or supportive relationships. Furthermore, society as a whole is becoming increasingly disjointed and fragmented as people spend more time online with other people they have never met face to face or are unlikely to meet in the future. In summary, the society has been impacted by the networking sites. Using networking sites, people will develop relationships with others all over the world; however, they will leave a negative impact on the local communities itself. The local communities should do more to try and involve regional people in order to promote the future of community life.