Childhood obesity is an increasing problem in Australia as many as two thirds of children are now obese. Schools have a responsibility to monitor what their students eat and the amount of exercise they do. To what extend do you agree to this statement?

In this contemporary epoch, the obesity epidemic among school students became a major problem. Some individuals propose that school authorities should make it compulsory for pupils to participate in sports and other health events. I believe that this will be beneficial for the young generation. My contention will be further explained. To embark, the school system should make it mandatory for pupils to participate in sports by making it a part of the school curriculum and making it affect the final grades of each student. This means that if the learners’ grades are at risk of being compromised if they didn’t attend these sports events, then most students will participate. A prominent example of this is the Salam Modern Schools, Asyut, Cairo, which promoted different sports activities such as football, basketball, volleyball and tennis, and made it mandatory for each pupil to participate in at least one of them or their grades will be affected. Hence, not only should the school system make it compulsory for young learners to participate in physical activities, but it should also make the pupils have a good incentive to participate in these activities. Furthermore, making pupils participate in physical activities when they are young will be beneficial for them on the long run. In other words, if students are encouraged to participate in different sports and were educated about their physical health, this will lead to the reduction of their sedentary lifestyle and the improvement of their academic achievements. For example, a study conducted by Oxford University revealed that students that do more physical activities have higher grades and acquire more social and academic skills than those who do not. Therefore, promoting the pupils ’ physical health not only help them achieve healthier lifestyle but also promotes their academic achievements. In conclusion, after this essay has manifested the points mentioned above, it can be reiterated that making sports a compulsory subject for young learners is essential. I believe that it will promote every students’ health and academic grades.