Nowadays, a growing number of people with health problems are trying alternative medicines and treatments instead of visiting their usual doctor. Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

Nowadays, more and more people prefer to try alternative medicines rather than visit their doctors when they are ill. In my view, I agree that this phenomenon is a negative development because of its potential problems. Granted, more individuals choosing to use alternative therapies may bring some benefits to society and individuals. From a societal perspective, fewer patients go to hospitals to visit doctors when they only have a minor illness can reduce the stress on the healthcare system, which means critical patients will obtain more attention from medical practitioners. From a personal perspective, using some ways besides conventional medicine may assist the public with reducing the cost of the treatment. Take yoga, for example, it is unnecessary to buy any facilities if you want to use this way to treat an illness. However, reaching the above conclusions does not necessarily mean the drawbacks of alternative medicine can be ignored. For one thing, we must know that most individuals have not acquired a medical qualification, so it is difficult for them to find out the cause of their diseases, which means finding an adaptive alternative treatment is unpractical for numerous patients. For another thing, many alternative medicines cannot be certified to be effective, so if someone only uses this way to therapy his sickness instead of visiting his usual doctor, he may delay his medication and lead to worse results. For instance, many famous people miss the best period to treat their illness because they overtruth the effectiveness of the alternative therapy. To summarize, although alternative medicines may bring some benefits to ourselves and our society, I still believe abandoning doctors to try this treatment is a negative development considering not everyone knows their bodies well and the difficulty to prove the effectiveness of these medicines.