Many people believe that social networking sites (such as Facebook) have had a huge negative impact on both individuals and society. To what extent do you agree ?

Social networking sites, for instance Facebook, are thought by some to have had a detrimental effect on individuals as well as societies and local communities. However, while I believe that such sites are mainly beneficial for individuals, I agree that they have had a damaging effect on local communities. With regards to individuals, the impact that social media has had on each individual has clear advantages. Firstly, people from different counties are brought together through such sites as Facebook whereas before the development of technology and social networking sites, people rarely had the chance to meet or communicate with anyone outside of their immediate circle or community. Secondly, Facebook also has social groups which offer individuals a chance to meet and participate in discussion with people who share common interest. On the other hand, the effect that Facebook and other social sites have had on societies and local communities can only be seen as negative. Rather than, individual people taking part in their local community, they are instead choosing to make interest in people online. Consequently, the people within local communities are no longer forming close or introduces an alternative Or supporting relationships. Furthermore, society as a whole is becoming increasingly disjointed and fragmented as people spend more time online with people they have never met or who they are unlikely to ever meet in the near future. To conclude, although social network sites have brought individual closer together, they have not had the same effect on society. Local communities should do more to try and involve local people in local activities in order to promote the future of community life.