More and more people want to buy famous brands of clothes, cars and other items. What are the reasons? Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

It is true that a growing number of people want to buy well-known designer labels of many Consumer products. While there are some obvious reasons for this trend, I believe that it is a Totally negative development. The reasons for the increasing consumer concern with brand names are simple to explain. Firstly, the marketing departments of giant corporations aim to identify their goods with a Glamorous and successful lifestyle, and people are easily swayed by advertisements. Companies often use celebrity endorsement to promote their products, with famous people Like Cristiano Ronaldo or Victoria Beckham. Secondly, the possession of a Mercedes car or a Gucci handbag, for example, advertises one’s own wealth and taste to others. The idea behind Owning a brand name is to make others jealous. However, I would argue that this is a completely negative development. In terms of what Ordinary people can afford, consumers are encouraged by corporations to squander their Savings on designer goods which the companies promise will improve their lives and make Them happy. From a social perspective, such messages are very dangerous, encouraging Crime, for example to steal the latest cell phones from people in the street. The target Audience is often young people, who companies seek to attract by promoting brand Awareness of their products such as Coca Cola, Nike or Samsung. These are now considered to Be essential items to have in our modern global village. In conclusion, there are some important reasons to explain why many people find brand name Products so attractive. Although famous designer labels are increasingly in demand, I would Argue that this form of consumerism gives people a false idea of what is important in our lives.