“Without capital punishment (the death penalty) our lives are less secure and crimes of violence increase. Capital punishment is essential to control violence in society. To what extent do you agree or disagree?”

It is thought that our lives would be less safe and that crime rates would surge in the absence of the death sentence. This penalty, therefore, plays a vital role in deterring crime. I strongly disagree with this point of view. It it largely justifiable that the death penalty is an appropriate method to control crime. Advocates of this view argue that people would be less inclined to commit a serious crime if they know they might be executed. However, such a thinking is flawed as scientists agree that this punishment has no deterrent efect. For instance, Vietnam is one of the countries where this is applied, yet the murder rate in this country is still high. According to the GSO, there have been over 1,000 murder cases reported since last year. This number proves that homicides still occur even when killers know that they might be sentenced to death. Therefore, this is not a holistic approach to vicious crime. In lieu of capital punishment, I think that superior alternatives could be adopted. One could be that states could spend more on education and training. This would increase educational level and deter juvenile delinquency, as most murders happening around young people are because of a crime of passion. Another is to imprison serious criminals for life without parole. Not only would this be a more humane measure, it also would stops them from reofending. In conclusion, while we could prevent heinous crime by applying capital punishment, I believe that there are superior alternatives to deter it instead of this heartless method.