Some people say that public libraries are an important public resource and should be free, others say that they are just a waste of public money? Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Few individuals believe that public libraries should be cost-less as they are an essential resource to the people. Others, however, claim that they are an unnecessary expense of the society. Upon considering calculated risks of both the sides, I support the former option as it yields greater benefits. This essay will firstly discuss the former statement followed by the latter one and also highlight my point of view. Library facility should be sponsored by the authorities at free subscription. This is because, although we are making use of technology to render information there are still people who prefer to read in a peaceful environment. Also, there are a lot of underprivileged citizens who depend on libraries to accumulate knowledge. A common characteristic between all the great leaders is reading. Hence localities should include a library that is accessible at no price. For instance, when a survey was conducted in our state, to understand how IPS and IAS officers achieved success, it was found that 95% of these officers visited the library for studies as the atmosphere at libraries is calm and also, they could not afford to purchase all the books. Although libraries have proven that they are the backbone behind many success stories, some technology savvy people claim that libraries are a waste of space and money in today’s technologically driven world. They suggest that instead of the libraries, internet can be used to answer any kind of problem. Furthermore, they also state that it is an avoidable overhead expense to the governing bodies as the cost of maintenance is high and unnecessary. Certain localities have closed the city libraries as they have only a few visitors and all the historic repositories are shifted to the museum since the internet is predominantly used by the masses for study. To conclude, though factors like internet have become indispensable, they cannot be a reason for abandoning library, which is a place that only reaps benefits to many while still being resourceful and tranquil.