Question: Some people believe they should keep all the money they have earned and should not pay tax to the state. Do you agree or disagree?

Taxes have always been a part of human existence, However, some citizens believe that they should be opted for giving part of their earnings to the state. I strongly disagree with this as I believe that patriotic individuals are supposed to be taxed. Perhaps, the most important reason why this levy should be paid is because these funds are required to build and maintain government utilities and infrastructures. We all make use of these facilities and as law abiding individuals, it becomes reasonable if we contribute by making payment as at when due. For example, without the revenue from taxation, a country will not be able to provide good roads, hospitals, libraries and other essential services and the members of the community daily make use of these. In addition to the point raised above, It is imperative to note that paying these dues to the authorities aid the effective redistribution of wealth, since not everybody in the society is well to do. Poor people in our neighbourhood can not afford food, shelter or send their children to school. They rely on a government stipend for support and to finance this system, our leaders will require revenue from taxing other members of the community. For instance, in the UK, there are benefits for the unemployed and free education is provided to people who are under 18 years old and sustaining this process depends on the proceeds from taxation. In a nutshell, it is clear that the importance of paying taxes cannot be overemphasized, as this is required to oil the wheel of good governance as well as help those who are vulnerable in our nation.