Nowadays, people waste a lot of food that was bought from shops and restaurants. Why do you think people waste food? What can be done to reduce the amount of food they throw away?

Food vending is a common way of making feeding available easily to people in the society, thereby saving them from the stress of the cooking process. Recently, much waste, in the form of leftovers, is generated from vendors' sites. This essay will discuss the causes of the emerging problem and suggest ways that can reduce the habit of discarding. Recently, it as been discovered that people spend just a little fraction of their allowance on feeding outside their house, meaning that a small amount of money can purchase an already made meal that a person can consume at a time. The excess is discarded by the consumer once he is satisfied. A consumer might decide to purchase a whole package just for a taste or while waiting, yet, the cost will have an unremarkable effect on his total money. Another major cause is modern day culture of indiscriminate discarding of items. Valuable items can be found in the bins, foods as well are not left out. The skill of reusing, reducing and recycling is going into extinction. To reduce consumable wastage, people should be encouraged to share or donate a portion of their purchase at the point of sales. Communicated through boards and posters or suggestion by the server in charge. Portions can be distributed to those who do not have enough to eat in society. Knowledge and methods of preserving food should be encouraged in among the new generation. Government can play a major role here through public awareness of the consequences of disposing reusable items. Excesses can be taken home to be preserved for consumption later. It can as well be given to pets in the house, thereby saving the cost of buying animal feeds. In conclusion, an individual's effort goes a long way in reducing wastage at food vendors because most measures for reducing the habit depends on individuals.