Some people think that the media such as newspaper should be allowed to publish information of people’s private life. Others however, think that there should be controls to stop this media from publishing this kind of information. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Nowadays, privacy invasion by journalists is increasingly a debatable and controversial issue. Invasion of people’s privacy by journalists is a debatable and controversial issue. Some people think it is a welcome development, while others do not. This essay will discuss both sides of the argument and provide evidence why people’s privacy should be respected. Undoubtedly, there are some benefits of the traditional media in invading people’s privacy. Firstly, this information could be published to expose the ills in the society such as corruption and crimes etc. For example, an aspiring politician who had raped a woman in the past but wants to contest for an elective position. The has a duty to expose such hidden information to alert the general public about the character of the person they would want to vote for. In addition, the print media could contribute in holding government and public office holders accountable. For instance, a public office holder that engages in extramarital affairs should be exposed. Nevertheless, they are many drawbacks in invading people’s privacy. Firstly, some media companies can become overzealous and throwaway the ethics of their profession to dustbin in their quest for breaking new thereby invading people’s privacy at will. For instance, the Duchess of Sussex, Meghan Markel’s privacy was invaded by a media company. This company hired a helicopter and took unauthorized photographs of the Duchess in her bedroom and published in their newspaper. Furthermore, some media outlets can become corrupt and begin to accept bribe to publish false information about people’s private life, just to tarnish their image and possibly destroy their career. For example, a United Kingdom-based newspaper published a false information about the First Lady of the United States of America, Melania Trump. She sued the newspaper and won. Imagine a situation where she was not capable or in a position to seek redress in the court of law, such publication could have tarnished her image and assassinated her character. In conclusion, I believe the risk associated with invading people’s privacy such as bribery and and character assassination far outweigh its benefit like fighting corruption and holding public officer accountable. Therefore, there should be controlled in such publication.