Some people think that schools should select students according to their academic abilities. Others believe that it is better to have students with different abilities study together. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

There are two different schools of thoughts about the mode of student selection in learning centres. Some people contend that mixed ability classes are more beneficial for children’s development, while others believe that streaming the students on the basis of their academic abilities, breeds the best result. In my point of view, having students interacted with various capabilities is of great importance in their upbringing. In the following paragraphs, a comprehensive discussion over both viewpoints will be stated in depth. Streaming students according to their academic qualifications, can facilitate effective teaching. For instance, teachers can simply develop an efficient instruction method which is applicable for all the top stream pupils. It can also pave the way for a high level and well-rounded education. Meaning that the student will be able to participate in more difficult scheduled lessons. On the minus side, by getting learners only focused on educational skills, hidden talents such as physical and artistic capabilities will be overlooked. The first and foremost outcome of mixed ability classrooms is providing a better environment for children’s many-sided improvement. In these types of classes, pupils can interact and study together and in turn, the can learn from one another. Furthermore, due to the competitive atmosphere, the bottom stream students will be forced to step up a gear in order to maintain the level of study required. In conclusion, although selecting students based on their scholastic achievements have many benefits, I still believe that mixed capacity classes have a more positive impact on children’s innovation and social graces.