One way to solve the problem of congestion is to increase the tax on private vehicles. Do the advantages of this solution outweigh its disadvantages?

Over the days, the problem of congestion is increasing because there is overpopulation and the majority of people have their own vehicles. Therefore, day per day the congestion on the streets increases. In addition, other important points are pollution and restricting vehicles. First, depending on the country there are some laws and taxes that help to maintain streets, light traffic and the environment. Also, there are additional expenses such as car insurance, gas tests and annual maintenance. So, if you have or want a vehicle you need enough money to spend on those expenses. Second, for example in Colombia, in some cities like Bogota, there is a restriction that you can’t use the car some days per week because there is a lot of congestion and overpopulation of cars. What is more problematic because apart from the payments already mentioned, only it can use the vehicle on specific days and it seems unfair to spend a lot of money and not use it. In order to, for private vehicles it’s not necessary to increase taxes because it is not a solution that helps to reduce the use of it. In fact, there are better solutions to motivate people to use public transport, bicycles or other ways to move. For instance, one solution is to reduce the tax or insurance if you do not use the car for a while. Also, to reduce congestion and pollution, one way is to promote the use of car sharing with colleagues or mates that go to the same place. However, the solution is not only for the drivers but also for the government where it’s necessary to have good street conditions, and traffic lights and make maintenance frequently and improve public transport or the subway. To conclude, in my opinion, this solution has more disadvantages because people will pay more tax and continue to use the car and increasing congestion, therefore, we need to think about how to implement the solutions mentioned above that help to make better use of private vehicles.