Living in a country where you have to speak a foreign language can cause serious social problems, as well as practical problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement

In the modern era, people need to migrate overseas for many reasons and thus, language barrier plays a vital role in their lives. It is often said that being not able to speak a foreign dialect properly can cause serious consequences in their lives. I would agree with the above line and this essay will give explanations. Undoubtedly, in a foreign land, indigenous language is the easiest mode of communication with native speakers, failing that can cause a number of problems. To start with, it would be difficult to communicate with local people in day-to-day life. For instance, it is likely to be very hard to choose a dish to savour in a foreign restaurant. As a consequence, quality of life appears not to be that great while you are not able to interact in local means of communication. Another point to mention is, people coming to a foreign country and poor in speaking non-native language, usually stay in small enclave together, making their community. As a result, they cannot make new friends and face discrimination. That can lead to unemployment, violence, or even terrorism among youth. In regards to professional life, one may face difficulties in interacting with their immediate higher authority in a new country. This could hinder their career progress, especially when job-+market is competitive. Additionally, while working in a team, being not able to communicate properly within the team, might destroy the team spirit and the foreign tend to feel isolated. So, overall it appears that people who cannot overcome the difference in language, are bound to face some difficulties in their life in a foreign land. Admittedly, living in a new country will open an ocean of opportunity to anyone and technological advancement has made it easier to overcome the language barrier, nevertheless, one has to struggle with language problem in their initial days in a new place. In conclusion, although modern era has given us a number of ways to pass the obstacle of foreign language, it still tends to cause fewer social and practical issues when people change their habitat.