Crime rate, in most countries, is often higher in urban areas than in rural areas. Why do you think that is? What can be done to reduce the crime rate?

Population in cities is more inclined to commit crimes than that in the countryside. I believe this is because, in the cities, people use more drugs causing addiction; as well as there are more migrants with low income. I suppose this issue can be solved if the government addresses the drug problem and reduces the alienation of the new residents. One of the primary reasons why the crime rate is higher in urban areas is drug addiction which leads to committing more crimes. To buy drugs - which are quite expensive - people need money nearly all the time. Furthermore, they are often unemployed because not many companies hire "long-haired freaky people ". Therefore, they have to get some money in an illegal way which usually means that they will become criminals. In order to prevent this, governments should raise people's awareness about illegal substances as well as provide more opportunities for an active lifestyle: build more free-of-charge facilities to do sports, and show more commercials about the benefits of being healthy. Another major reason for the higher crime rate in the cities, particularly in metropolitan areas, is that migrants tend to go to big cities in order to find a well-paid job. It is a well-known fact that there are a plethora of better vacancies in urban areas than in rural areas, which leads migration flow to bigger cities, while the mechanisms of adaptation are not good enough; migrants and their families remain alienated from society, they and their families do not know official language well enough to find a decent job. Consequently, migrants desperately try to provide for their families and commit crimes. I think that this issue could be tackled if countries improved their policies and developed free language courses for newcomers. To conclude, the two main reasons for the higher crime rate in the cities are drug addiction and poor migrant adaptation programmes. I assume that in order to solve this problem, government bodies should address these issues.