Today, it is common to see famous sports people advertising sports products. Do the advantages of this trend outweigh the disadvantages?

In our modern society, sports athletes are treated like professional models and they often advertise sports products. However, although products that are advertised by the famous athletes sell well and that can be a motivation to start the sports for the public, I do not believe that the benefits outweigh the drawbacks. On the one hand, it is undeniable that sports players are usually treated as a hero for teenagers and many of them hope to use what the professional athletes use. Consequently, the items that were advertised by the popular professional sports athletes make more profits, which is more lucrative both for the sports companies and the players. Moreover, the advertisement with the sports professionals is genuinely appealing, as a result, it can be a good motivation for the public to start playing sports. Spikes that were advertised by the most well-known football player names Christiano Ronald, for instance, triggered many young boys in Europe to play football. Giving a motivation to play sports can also play a part in solving the obesity issue among people in developing countries. However, despite the upsides of sports figures advertising the products, I still believe that the negatives outweigh those positives. Firstly, most of the sports companies that use sports athletes as advertisement are said to spend more money to hire the player than improving their products. In fact, employing a professional athlete usually costs a fortune and they tend to lack money to make better products or releasing new items. Worse than that, they even miss the security tests that are mandatory to protect customers from injuries. Likewise, another concern is that the product may become more expensive to compensate the salary of the celebrities. Once the shorts that were advertised by a famous person like David Becham, the good actually became a brand, as a result, it is no longer affordable for lay people. To sum up, although popular athletes help companies to make more profits and they can motivate the public to start sports for health, the products often become a luxury stuff and no longer achievable for young athletes who poorly enjoy playing sports. Therefore, I do not believe that the advantages outweigh the disadvantages.