Today, the high sales of popular consumer goods reflect the power of advertising and not the real needs of the society in which they are sold. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Many people believe that in this era of consumerism, advertisement has developed into an industry, which has such a strong impact upon the people that it lures them to buy many items which are not really necessary for their needs. I fully agree with this notion because the strength of adverts can easily be observed in the society. The advancement in technology, especially electronic and social media has revolutionized the advertisement industry. Every day millions of dollars are being spent by manufactures for the publicity of their consumer products and the superstars of media and sports are being hired for the television commercials. These actors and players, who are the ideals of many people, especially the youth, present the products in such a fascinating way that their followers buy those without any necessity. For instance, now all the multi-national companies of sports costumes, like Nike and Adidas, spend a significant amount of their profit hiring these brand ambassadors. The power of advertising can be seen by the fact that now shopping has become a hobby for the present generation. The large billboards of fast foods and other products on the roadsides influence the people to try a new restaurant and buy a new model of cell phone. Similarly, the fashion industry is also flourishing because of the advertisements. New fashions are being introduced every other month to generate the revenue and this business is especially attracting the young girls. To give you an example, now the wardrobes are full of new clothes, shoes and bags which are much more than actually required by anyone to spend a comfortable life. To conclude, many consumer items are being sold in the market, without being actually required by the people, only because of extremely effective promotion and publicity.