Some people claim that not enough of the waste from homes is recycled. They say that the only way to increase recycling is for governments to make it a legal requirement.

To what extent do you think laws are needed to make people recycle more of their waste? It is true that the amount of waste being managed by recycling in many countries is very insignificant. Although introducing laws in order to enforce recycling is a good solution, I believe there are other ways of encouraging people to embrace this form of waste management. One of the ways to increase the rate of recycling is to introduce waste disposal laws. By making offenders who use other non environmentally friendly means to dispose their waste serve some jail term or pay some fine, people may be compelled to recycle their waste. If more and more people recycle wastes like plastics and metals, the environment will be less toxic and governments would save more. For example, in Europe, there are stringent laws against conventional methods of waste disposal. This has made their environment more healthy and contributed more positively towards climate change. However, apart from enforcing waste recycling, there are other ways to encourage this method of refuse management. I believe that educating people on the importance of recycling is very important. If people realise the long term consequence of toxic waste disposal, they would be encouraged to recycle more. Also, some people have some misconceptions about the safety of recycled products. Some feel that recycled goods might be harmful, however, showing them its completely safe would make them embrace the idea of recycling more. Some of the ways in which people could be further enlightened include; placing advertisements on Tvs and radios, and organising community outreaches that address topics of climate change and global warming. In conclusion, while introducing and enforcing environmental laws could be helpful in convincing people to recycle more, I am of the opinion that teaching people the importance of recycling would also help to increase the rates of recycling.