In some countries young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for young people who decide to do this

People in few countries have this perception that if students are directed, to spend their time in doing some jobs or travel the world, before getting into the college, after high school. It would be beneficial for the students to make them refresh after schooling, but this long time gap from studies could make them feel not concentrated, while studying. After attending schools and studying in an extensive manner till the high school, could cause some disturbance in the student's mind. It requires some kind of break, to rejuvenate all the energy. Also, if you work somewhere, you get to interact with some new people and by doing this, you also learn about social behaviour. It has been analysed that the college students who work before getting admission in the college, do well in the college in their academics. So, it could we a better idea to take a free time and do some work and may be travel around the world, to make yourself fresh for the next. Although there are some merits of taking a break before the college, It could cost the student in a very problematic way. Students could loss their focus after such a long gap, some college does not take students who generally have one or two years of gap. There has been some incidents recorded by a survey group in Delhi that more than 200 students did not get into the college due to a year gap. Some students were not even able to finish their graduation in a given amount of time, due to lack of concentration. In conclusion, Although there has been some disadvantages of taking a break after the high school, a number of advantages of it is more than its demerits. So, In my opinion, If someone is taking a gap before the college, it would be a great decision taken by him and his family to make himself learn more about the life by travelling the world and by doing some work.