In some countries children have very strict rules of behaviour, while in other countries they are allowed to do almost anything they want. To what extent should children have to follow rules?

In today's world, we see diversity everywhere. The world is divided into two parts according to the code of conduct, culture, and behaviour. In some nations such as the United States of America and Canada, rules are flexible and allow children to do whatever they want while in others, such as Pakistan and Afghanistan, they have hard and fast rules. Children are malleable like clay. What they become when they grow up is dependent on how we raise them and what values we teach them. First of all, in my opinion, having the rules is good. Children cannot decide what is good and what is wrong for themselves. As adults and parents, it is our responsibility to help our minors to be hardworking and competent in life. Kids who follow disciplines during childhood, achieve more in life. For example, when children are given an hour daily to play games on the computer or gaming devices, they also tend to finish their homework and do well in studies. It could also be experienced in sports, kids who abide by the rules and regulations, ultimately perform better in life. Nevertheless, on the contrary, to my previous point, I should also mention that the children should be given some space for entertainment and originality. While rules are good in general, being strict and pushing them to follow can have adverse effects. They should understand the importance of following rules and as they realize, they tend to adhere to them. Let's take American schools as an example, students are given options of music, sports, and recreational activities during their free period, while in Pakistan, they are only allowed to stick to the academic syllabus. American students are always ahead of Pakistani students in international school competitions. Studies found that children learn to perform better when they are given some leeway space. To conclude, I would like to say that the rules are good and must be followed by every kid, however, we should not suffocate them. Balance is the key and we must maintain it during the upbringing of the child.