There is increase of noise in our daily lives nowadays. Why is this a problem? What can be done to reduce it?

Sound pollution is increasing at an alarming rate. In this essay, I will shed some light on the problems associated with noise pollution like its harmful impact on human life and also suggest solutions to minimize it. Noise pollution is a problem because there are manifold issues associated with it. Firstly, the increased noise that people have to deal with while commuting to work puts them under tremendous pressure. This makes them impatient and in turn less productive at their office. Secondly, people suffer from hearing ailments because of noise pollution. Even if they stay at home all the time they may develop hearing issues due to the noise from machinery and factories in the surrounding. For example, studies have shown that people who live in noisy areas are more likely to suffer from hearing ailments. Exposure to high levels of noise can also lead to sleep deprivation and insomnia. Children and the elderly are the worst affected by this. Chronic sleep deprivation will eventually lead to various health problems. However, solutions are available to tackle these problems. The government should restrict honking in the congested areas. Peak hour traffic jam must be monitored by traffic police in places where honking is not allowed. Another solution is to grow more plants on roads and in residential areas because they help reduce the noise pollution by absorbing sound. In conclusion, increasing sound pollution is a global issue causing health problems and reduced productivity. Various means and methods like restricting honking and growing trees are available to prevent this situation from worsening.