Younger people now have to compete for jobs with older people. What problems do you think this will cause? How can these problems be resolved?

More often than not, there is an increase in the number of young people seeking for jobs as well as older people. While this trend has led to numerous problems such as unemployment of older people and an increase in their financial burden, however, it can be abated by implementing the measures discussed below. Firstly, older people do not often get a better chance of employment when in competition with younger applicants, thus, leading to unemployment. In other words, companies often prefer younger applicants because of the developments of the latest technology that involves the use of high tech gadget which older adults are unfamiliar with, therefore, leading to their loss of jobs. Secondly, increased competition with younger job seekers will most likely result to more financial strain on older people leading them to bankruptcy or in some severe case, depression. Take for example, a man in his late fifties with a family of five who is made redundant because the company needs to downsize will be forced to live on his savings or depend on credit facilities to enable him to provide for his family. This usually leads to heavy financial burden which might further escalate to health issues such as depression. One main measure to tackle these challenges is for companies to change their employment policies to accommodate older employees. This will ensure that older people have the same opportunity to secure a job when competing with younger applicants. In addition, companies should offer trainings in the use of High technology gadgets when necessary. This will help the older people get the required skills required for the roles that they are applying for. In conclusion, it is a clear fact that companies have a major role to play in ensuring that both the young and old are adequately represented in their organizations. This can be achieved by regulating their policies to accommodate older people as well as offering useful training to them when required.