Some people think that young people should follow older people’s examples while others think it is good for young people to challenge older people’s opinions and thoughts. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

The choice of whose instruction a child should follow has always been a cause of concern to people. Although it is believed by some that the young ones should emulate the examples of the older generations, others believe that challenging o lder not the same one or ones already mentioned or implied other people's ideas is logical. In my opinion, I think the situation on-ground will determine whose instruction a child should follow. On the one hand, some people think that the older ones are more experienced; as a result, will give more competent ideas. This is because the longer one lives on earth, the more knowledgeable he becomes, and this will put an adult in a position to give more sound advice to the growing generation because of the things he has seen and experienced while growing up. For example, when Miss Florence a teenager was about making a decision on the choice of car she wanted, she indulged her dad and he was able to give her a good response based on the fact that he had used a number of cars while growing up and he could pinpoint a good one from a bad one. This goes to show that the young ones need to follow the elderly. On the other hand, it is thought by some that the ideas of the older generation should be challenged because at times elders could give obsolete advice. In other words, because we live in a more advanced world, where things have evolved, it is possible that an adult's idea about a particular situation may be wrong or outdated and instances like this the child has the right to challenge such opinions. For instance, young Femi wanted to buy a new phone and requested the opinion of his grandfather, he was advised to buy a brand of phone unknowing to Femi, these brands were no longer available in the market. In my opinion, I think that the situation on the ground will determine whether a child should follow his elders. Instances that involve decisions related to technology, the latest trends in fashion, the elders might not have valid opinions thus misleading the young one. To conclude, I believe that the circumstances on the ground will determine if a child should follow the instructions given by an adult or challenge them.