Some people think the media should not report details of crime to the public. What extent do you agree or disagree.

Nowadays, there has been an overriding concern over the trend of detailed reports of crimes in mass media. Many people assert that the news media should refrain from revealing details of crimes. In my view, I can not agree with this opinion anymore. On the one hand, it is undeniable that giving detailed information about crimes has benefits and it is advisable to discrete and discourage this practice. Firstly, they will realize criminal activities and stay away from it. If they do not comply with the rule, they will face to a heavy fine depending on each situation or even many years in prison. Secondly, members of the public can gain valuable information about the case leading to commit a crime or the place where illegal activities are rampant, therefore, they will be more conscious of their own safety and try to avoid being the next victim. For example, people tend to avoid going to an area if they knew robberies and stealing frequently occurred there. Despite the advantages aforementioned above, complete accounts of criminal acts has some drawbacks. The chief reason of it is detailed reports of heinous crime may permanently traumatize the psychology of victims. Without the suffer’s consent, glaringly vivid and graphic accounts of flagitious crimes may constitute recurring nightmares to the individuals who have been victimised by these crimes. Besides, media will provide very instructive learning materials for criminals, thus alert them to what the police know and do not know. This could allow the law-breaker to adjust his/her behaviour and avoid detection or capture. Bank robbery in Viet Nam last year was a case in point. By learning material about previous illegal actions via the Internet, bank robbers successfully carried out the robbery and cause serious damage to the country's finances. In conclusion, although crime reports in detail have some advantages, I believe that its drawbacks overweigh its benefits.