Some people say that the best way to improve public health is by increasing the number of sports facilities. Others, however, say that this would have little effect on public health and that other measures are required. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Improving public health is one of the most debated topics in the modern world. Some believe that increasing the number of sports facilities will help in improving the public health, whereas others argue that the impact is very minimal and one should focus on other measures that are more effective. In my opinion, both the sections are correct in their own views and we should consider a balanced approach evaluating pros and cons. Sports had always been associated with physical health. It is widely believed that, the best possible way to improve public health is by encouraging citizens to actively play sports. But, in many places, people are not equipped with sufficient number of facilities because the existing facilities are either too far away to access or always over crowded which makes it difficult for them to practice. For instance, in my city, there is only one such place which is always crowded. So the best way is to increase the sports complexes. On the other hand, many argue that sports have negligible effect on public health. They think, sports are one of the many activities which keeps a human healthier. Other activities like Yoga, Strength and Conditioning and so on have proven to be effective. Many countries like India, China is actively promoting these believing they are more effective in improving public health. It is also argued that taxation helps to an extent. For example, sugar tax in Europe, cess on tobacco products, bans on alcohol in many countries are widely believed to have contributed to a healthier public. In my opinion, while increasing facilities is one way to improve public health, it really lies in the hands of people. Anybody can just provide a platform to help anyone make the right choice but making the right choice lies with that person. I believe, public awareness and willingness to be healthy is what matters in improving the public health. To conclude, governments may increase sport facilities, take other measures like the taxation, prohibiting some items and so on to improve public health, but they are not useful if citizens are not utilising them. No matter how much or how little a country spends, it depends on the citizen's resolve to be healthy.