Some people think that the goverment is responsible for crime prevention. Others think that it is individuals responsibility to pretocet themselves. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

There has been a constant debate on whether crime prevention is the responsibility of the government, or whether it is an individual's burden. In this essay, I will elaborate on both views and give my personal opinion on this matter. On the one hand, some people believe that the prevention of criminals is the government's responsibility. It is true that governments have much more authority than normal citizens. Governments hold the authority to create and enforce laws, regulate societal behaviour, and manage public resources, ensuring order and stability. They also possess the power to levy taxes, provide public services, and represent the state in international relations. Thus, it is obvious that governments ought to be responsible for crime prevention. For example, the government once used their power to implement curfews during the 2020 protests in several U.S. cities, as a result, the number of reported looting cases dropped by over 60% in the days following its implementation in Los Angeles. On the other hand, others hold the opinion that individuals should be in charge of crime reduction. It has become a fact that governments do not have the capability to always know information about crime, especially in small towns. Since individuals are the ones who know their surroundings well, they should contribute to crime prevention with their knowledge. For instance, a report by the U.S. Department of Justice found that watch programs, programmes established by residents in a neighbourhood, can reduce crime by up to 16%, particularly in areas with high rates of burglary. This demonstrates the tangible impact that individuals, working together, can have in deterring criminal activities. In conclusion, while both sides have valid reasons for their demonstration, I stand in between them. The government has the authority needed to apply policies, while the community has better knowledge about their neighbourhood. I believe that crime prevention has long been a challenging task and requires the effort, teamwork and contribution of both the government and the residents.