Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary school rather than secondary school. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

It is considered by some professionals that international language classes should begin at elementary schools rather than high school. Although, teenagers can still learn these languages at school, however, I strongly believe that it is more beneficial for young children to learn a second language immediately they are enrolled in schools for the following reasons. Firstly, it is easier for children to learn more than one language, thus, they are able to speak and write the language fluently. A recent research of children living with a bilingual parent revealed that, these children are able to understand and are fluent in both languages because of their early exposure. Consequently, if children are exposed to a new language early in school, it will help them to easily learn it and thus, becoming part of them as they grow older. Another point to consider is that elementary schools are now having more pupils from different ethnicity, which means that learning a classmates' language will boost social interaction. Most children will be excited if their native language is being taught in school, it will also help their peers understand their culture, since language and culture are intertwined. This will help build stronger relationships because they will be able to empathize with one another. In conclusion, although young teenagers can still learn a second language in high school, I consider that learning this language at a younger age is more advantageous. This is because it is less demanding for children to learn and they can achieve a native speaker fluency level. Moreover, it builds social connections among their peers.