Increasing the price of petrol is the best way to solve growing traffic pollution problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree? What other measures do you think might be effective?

In today’s world, pollution is a severe problem that requires the attention of society and needs to be addressed quickly before its consequences become irreversible. While many people believe that the best solution to tackle traffic pollution problems is to increase the price of gasoline, I would disagree with this statement, and the following essay is going to provide some effective measures to solve this problem. The reason behind the increase in gasoline prices is that many people believe it could potentially limit the use of private vehicles, leading to a drop in the levels of emissions released into the atmosphere. However, this method may not achieve the desired outcome, since citizens still regard private vehicles to be more convenient, even though the budget for fuel could increase significantly. For instance, in Vietnam, in the past ten years, the price of petrol has increased by a considerable amount, and new public transportation has been introduced, yet the number of private transport vehicles has not decreased. Thus, traffic pollution problems are still an imminent threat in Vietnam. In order to effectively solve the issues of traffic pollution, several methods could be employed. First and foremost, the government could implement several beneficial policies, such as issuing discounts for people using public transportation systems daily, thus attracting more citizens to gradually abandon their private vehicles. Moreover, electric vehicles should gradually replace those that consume fossil fuels. For example, in Vietnam, electric buses and cars are becoming increasingly popular. Last but not least, to make the aforementioned solution work, the authorities should also work on improving the conditions of the infrastructure so that public transportation systems can work properly and arrive at the destination without any delay. In conclusion, raising the price of gasoline is not an effective solution to pollution caused by travelling problems. However, the government can promote the use of public transport systems and improve the condition of roads and bridges to lessen the consequences of this problem.