Some companies sponsor sports as a way to advertise themselves.Some people think it is good, while others think that there are disadvantages to this. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

The introduction of modern equipments and techniques has revolutionized the modern day sports.The better broadcasting services have improved the experience and reach of many sporting events and as a result, many companies are using sports to advertise their products which some people see as beneficial while others think that it has negative consequences.I am of the opinion that sports advertisers help the sporting community in many ways and their advantages outweigh the disadvantages. Firstly, the use of sporting events as a tool for advertising has brought the much needed financial aid to many sports and resultantly, the athletes today are better paid off than those in the past.Many advertising agencies hire the best athletes to be their brand ambassadors which in many cases have served as an incentive for players to perform better and this in turn improves the quality and competitiveness in the sports. Secondly, the governing sport bodies can sell the broadcasting rights at higher prices because of the availability of many sponsor companies and widespread popularity of many sports among the population.The money procured from these sources can help run these bodies independent of government funding and these funds can be utilized in improving the sports structure in a country. However, the widespread commercialization has led to the popular games taking over the limelight and lesser known regional games are pushed to the sidelines because of the absence of broadcasters and advertisers. This in turn has a negative effect on our culture as well because many of these games serve as the reminiscence of our historical background and culture.One of the downsides of the intense commercialization is that many athletes opt to play the sports for monetary benefits and they find it harder to commit to their national sporting events because of the availability of high value contracts for them in commercial leagues and matches. In conclusion, despite some drawbacks to the commercialization of sports but, still it has served the sporting community a great deal and has contributed to the best overall coverage of many sports across the world.