Students perform better in school when they are rewarded rather than punished. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Students could do well in schools if they are appreciated instead of penalizing every time, but to some extent, in my opinion, you cannot just let children do whatever they want, it could make them a stubborn and disobedient child. However, some think that a student should be given complete liberty and some do not. Firstly, punishment does not only mean beating a child or giving severe punishment, but it could also be in a mild way because if children do not have fear of anything they may become wayward students and would listen to no none, would do whatever they like to, even if it is bad stuff. In support of the statement, most of the students in the USA do not go to college after high school, and it is a report shown by their government and I believe that it is due to their rule that no one could punish a student there. Secondly, some children are so intolerable that they do the wrong things even if you make them clearly understand. In those instances, I have a view that there should be a piece of advice given to them and even if they do not understand, they should look for the punishment because it is in their future if they are not made a good person, they could choose a wrong path in their life like what is happening in the Middle East countries, where terror is all around due to a lack of guidance given to the people when they were children. In conclusion, Although punishments could look a brutal act, but if it is done in a different way like to extract out something good for a child then it could result in a better way for a child. Hence, I am in favour of at least a little form of punishments.