In some countries an increasing number of people are suffering from health problems as a result of eating too much fast food. It is therefore necessary for governments to impose a higher tax on this kind of food. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

In recent years, there has been an increasing pattern of over consumption of fast food among people, which leads to serious health issues. This rise has resulted in a belief that if the government levies higher tax on such sort of food, it will reduce the problem. I argue that, although it is helpful, but that’s not the only solution to curb the issue. To begin with, it is an irrefutable fact that eating an excess amount of fast food leads to major health issues in the long run. This is because it contains a large amount of fats and oil, which ultimately deteriorates the health of an individual. In order to reduce this problem, if the government levies hefty tax on such food items, it may refrain a lot of people from buying anything expensive. On the other hand, it might also lead to a reduction in the income generated by fast food companies. However, this problem of increase in health issues can be overcome by adopting certain friendly measures. If the government takes more impactful measures to raise awareness among the general public about the ways to maintain good health or provide better healthcare services, it will help them maintain a regular exercise regime along with a healthy lifestyle. Alternatively, raising taxes might not transform the number either. For instance, the government is already charging heavily for alcohol and cigarettes. But, there is hardly any decrease in the number of these consumers. To conclude, while increasing taxes on fast food might prove to be helpful in reducing the number of junk food consumers, but there is a need to curb the problem from the root. The government needs to take stricter measures and provide better facilities for health care in order to remove the cause.